Latent Content of a Dream


So today I felt like in my recent posts I haven’t kept to the idea of relating psychology to everyday life. So I’ve done some research. To be honest I didn’t have any psychology terms or theories or what have you in mind to write about, so I Googled psychology term definitions. I found Latent Content of dreams and I think it’s interesting. Here’s what the article says about it:

“According to psychoanalyst Sigmund Freud, the latent content of a dream is the hidden psychological meaning of the dream. Freud believed that the content of dreams is related to wish fulfillment and suggested that dreams have two types of content: manifest content and latent content. The manifest content is the actual literal subject-matter of the dream, while the latent content is the underlying meaning of these symbols.

Freud believed that the latent content of dreams is suppressed and hidden by the subconscious mind in order to protect the the individual from thoughts and feelings that are hard to cope with. By uncovering the hidden meaning of dreams, Freud believed that people could better understand their problems and resolve the issues that create difficulties in their lives”

http://psychology.about.com/od/lindex/g/latent-content.htm

I think it’s kind of ironic that I write about this today just because I had a very unusual dream last night that actually scared me. The dream was unusual because nothing happened in it. It was just a feeling and through the feeling was a story of sort of why I was feeling that way. Lots of doubt and fear and hopelessness. I don’t like these kinds of dreams and I have them quite a bit. Most of them aren’t frightening but how I don’t see anything and can only feel things upsets me I guess.

So here’s a little interactive bit for anyone who would like to comment or have a little fun. I know that Freud tried to interpret dreams but no one can be sure what dreams really mean. So has anyone ever had an dream that you think you know the meaning of? Or do you have another thought on why we dream what we do?

~ by alicechick on November 30, 2011.

One Response to “Latent Content of a Dream”

  1. Jung theorized that dreams of a house were dreams of the state of your life. I definitely agree, as I always have house dreams as I’m getting ready to make a change in my life. Reorganizing furniture, remodeling rooms, taking dusty sheets off of old furniture to make them pretty again, discovering old rooms – all metaphors of ways you can experience change in your life and in yourself. Huge Jung fan here.

Leave a Reply

 
