Self Evaluation


I’ve been told I need to re-evaluate my life and figure out what’s best for me, so why not? I am thinking about me and my life for the past…well why not go board and say the last 2 years and then get more specific…

2 Years Ago…

Alright so 2 years ago it was October 2009, I was a senior in high school, I was single, I was fairly happy because I was enjoying classes at the moment. This was back when I was in Russian and I loved every second of it. I was still the straight lace kid that was living according to how people thought she should. I didn’t have a lot of friends and I was happy with that. I was still trying to figure out what I wanted to major in and for some reason I thought I wanted to be someone important like a chemical engineer.

1 Year Ago…

A year ago I was the scared little rabbit that is a college freshman living in the dorms. Again I was single after splitting with a boyfriend that I was with over the summer. I had a few friends that I had met in college, but my circle was still expanding and I liked it. I was starting to experiment with my own limits of things I was expected to do. The biggest experiment was not going to church for months. I was thinking of being an art major and going into photography.

Now…

This year I am a sophomore with the proclaimed major of psychology. I live in an apartment and I really can’t wait to move out and be truly on my own. I have a wonderful boyfriend who I love and will be with for a very long time. People have started betting on when we’ll get married. I am not a straight laced kid at all anymore. I like living the way I see fit, but sadly I have people that still have some control over me. I don’t have a lot of friends, but the ones I do are very close to me. I am happy now. I haven’t been in a while.

 

So there it is my self evaluation as was prescribed. I think my life has changed for the better. I think things work out a lot better for me now because I am truly happy. I have a stable relationship that may be the longest relationship of my life. Yes, I like my life the way it is turning out and I think my life is headed in the right direction.

Not the answer some people wanted. I know they want me to be miserable again and doing what is “right”, but I don’t plan on going back to that life for a very long time. I choose being truly happy over pretending to be happy any day.

~ by alicechick on October 26, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
