“Learn From My Mistakes”


This seems to be a phrase we’ve all heard at least once. Increasingly so for me for the past month or so. But what does this saying really mean? Don’t do this because I already have and I know the outcome? Or maybe I have a lot more experience than you so I know the possible outcome? I am leaning more toward the second but maybe with more of a “I do have more experience but I am just worried you’re going to fuck up your life beyond repair”…

People worry. It’s a fact of life. And usually when we tell them not to worry it’s like telling water not to be wet. I am tired of people telling me to be careful and not to make the same mistakes that they have. I am sorry, I believe firmly in learning from your own mistakes. I will take yours into consideration, but they aren’t going to shape my decisions completely.

I am still the same girl that wants to be a psychologist and make something of myself. Yes I’ve changed, but I still have the same goals. I am still the same person, I am just a happier more complete person now. I don’t want people to worry. I am a big girl and have handled life thus far. Yes I could get hurt, but without a little risk life wouldn’t be interesting or even worth living. It’d be boring and a waste of our time.

~ by alicechick on September 24, 2011.

One Response to ““Learn From My Mistakes””

  1. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

 
