Beauty


I love this poem. I think it’s so beautiful. It’s I Loved
You by Alexander Sergeevich Pushkin It’s in Russian.

Я вас любил: любовь еще, быть может

В душе моей угасла не совсем;

Но пусть она вас больше не тревожит;

Я не хочу печалить вас ничем.

Я вас любил безмолвно, безнадежно,

То робостью, то ревностью томим;

Я вас любил так искренно, так нежно,

Как дай вам бог любимой быть другим.

And in English:

I loved you once:
perhaps that love has yet

To die down thoroughly within my soul;

But let it not dismay you any longer;

I have no wish to cause you any sorrow.

I loved you wordlessly, without a hope,

By shyness tortured, or by jealousy.

I loved you with such tenderness and candor

And pray God grants you to be loved that way again.

~ by alicechick on September 7, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
