The Sound of Settling


Actually The Sound of Settling is a song by Death Cab for Cutie. It’s pretty good too. It’s also probably the most known song by that band.

But here we go if you’ve never heard the song. Death Cab For Cutie is one of my favorite bands so I’ll probably reference them a bit. But I love all music so many music references. And movie references…

Sorry, I am rambling. I should get to a point. When I started writing I wasn’t sure what I wanted to write about. I just moved yesterday from my dad’s house to an apartment near my college. So I guess I’ll try and stay focused long enough to tell about that.

I am living right next to my college now. I am just right across the street from it. I am very happy for that. Having most everything in walking distance is great. Two of my roommates are here with me now, we all moved in yesterday, one of whom is my future sister-in-law, Cynthia. I am glad I am living with her. Heck if it weren’t for her I probably wouldn’t have gotten an apartment. The other girl, her name is Brittney, Cynthia knew before this year, but I didn’t so I just met her yesterday. She’s cool and very talkative, which is good because yesterday when we were first moving in just the two of us my shy mode kicked in. I think it’s because I was tired just from stressing about the move and then actually moving.

I think this year is going to be a very social year for me. The great thing about Cynthia and Brittney is they are both social butterflies, and where I can be a bit of a home body at time I think it will be good to get out and just have fun.

Last night, even though it was raining, we went out and knocked on all the doors of the apartments in our building so we could meet everyone. It was fun and I think it cheered up some people who are here alone or if it was their first year here. I remember how scary it was my first year here. Yes I was in the dorms but still I didn’t know anyone. So I think it’s good we did that.

Wow…describing last night sounded so much better in my mind. Probably because I was just remembering stuff. If you haven’t guessed yet I am very tired. I probably got about 5 to 6 hours of sleep last night, which is my norm for college. But since I was stressing about moving and stuff for the past week I have slept well. So in reality I probably needed a good 10 hours or so and got about half of that. I don’t mind I feel pretty cool, but higher brain functions aren’t working so much at the moment. So if this seems scrabbled and unfocused come back and read it when you’re almost to zombie mode too. (Smile.)

I think the thing I miss the most about being at my dad’s house was being so close to my mom. My parents are divorced and my mom lived ten minutes away from me. My mom and I got really close when I turned 17 and all through my last two years of high school I would go stay with her for a day or two on the weekends. Before I moved back up to college she gave me some dishes and stuff for my apartment. HPIM2225

My favorite bowl she had. I don’t know why I like it so much but I am glad she gave it to me.

~ by alicechick on August 13, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
